Kannada 0C80—0CFF

  • Number of characters: 128
  • type: abugida
  • Languages: dravidian
  • Countries: India, Goa

Kannada is a Unicode block containing characters for the Kannada and Tulu languages. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0C82..U+0CCD were a direct copy of the Kannada characters A2-ED from the 1988 ISCII standard. The Devanagari, Bengali, Gujarati, Gurmukhi, Oriya, Tamil, Telugu, and Malayalam blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

The Kannada alphabet is an abugida of the Brahmic family, used primarily to write the Kannada language, one of the Dravidian languages of southern India. Several minor languages, such as Tulu, Konkani, Kodava, and Beary, also use alphabets based on the Kannada script. The Kannada and Telugu scripts share high mutual intellegibility with each other, and are often considered to be regional variants of single script. Similarly, Goykanadi, a variant of Old Kannada, has been historically used to write Konkani in the state of Goa.

Text is also available in the following languages: Русский;