Tamil 0B80—0BFF

  • Number of characters: 128
  • type: abugida
  • Languages: tamil, sanskrit
  • Countries: India, Sri-Lanka, Singapore, Malaysia, Kenya

Tamil is a Unicode block containing characters for the Tamil, Badaga, and Saurashtra languages of Tamil Nadu India, Sri Lanka, Singapore, and Malaysia. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0B02..U+0BCD were a direct copy of the Tamil characters A2-ED from the 1988 ISCII standard. The Devanagari, Bengali, Gujarati, Gurmukhi, Oriya, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

The Tamil script (tamiḻ ariccuvaṭi) is an abugida script that is used by the Tamil people in India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia and elsewhere, to write the Tamil language, as well as to write the liturgical language Sanskrit, using consonants and diacritics not represented in the Tamil alphabet. Certain minority languages such as Saurashtra, Badaga, Irula, and Paniya are also written in the Tamil script.

Text is also available in the following languages: Русский;