Telugu is a Unicode block containing characters for the Telugu, Gondi, and Lambadi languages of Andhra Pradesh, India. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0C01..U+0C4D were a direct copy of the Telugu characters A1-ED from the 1988 ISCII standard. The  Devanagari 0900–097F ,  Bengali 0980–09FF ,  Gujarati 0A80–0AFF ,  Gurmukhi 0A00–0A7F ,  Oriya 0B00–0B7F ,  Tamil 0B80–0BFF ,  Kannada 0C80–0CFF and  Malayalam 0D00–0D7F blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

Telugu script, an abugida from the  Brahmic 11000–1107F family of scripts, is used to write the Telugu language, a language found in the South Indian states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana as well as several other neighbouring states. It gained prominence during the Vengi Chalukyan era. It shares high similarity with its sibling  Kannada script 0C80–0CFF .